Gateway timer event fixed delay not correct

Hello,

I used to use Ignition 7.9 and had gateway TIMER events defined as FIXED DELAY on DEDICATED threading to execute every 60 seconds.

The script within the timer event would take anywhere from 10-15 seconds to execute.
THEN, 60 seconds after that the timer would execute again. Just like in the documentation.

However since I have upgraded to Ignition 8.0.13 this is not behaving the same.
I have a “master” inheritable project defined.
I have the gateway timer events defined in it.
I have a “child” project defined that has my windows in it.

NOW when my gateway timer events fire, the execute as follows.

1. gateway starts.
  2. 60 seconds later the timer fires.
  3. My script within the timer executes for 10-15 seconds.
    (I verify this with logging.)
  4. 50-45 seconds later the timer fires again!

What happened to the FIXED delay that used to be between the END of your script firing INSIDE the timer and the NEXT interval?

thanks

How many projects do you have inheriting this? Because that's how many copies of the script will be running. I suspect you are seeing logging from two different projects, not mistiming from one project. Gateway events should never be defined in an inheritable project, only in leaf projects.

1 Like

Those are the only 2 PROJECTS in my gateway.
“master” is inheritable.
“child” is inherited from “master” and is not inheritable.

My gateway TIMER event is defined as follows:

60,000 ms
Delay Type = FIXED DELAY
Threading = DEDICATED

script:
from time import sleep
lSeconds = 10
MES_global.DB.logMessageDirectlyToDB(‘zTestFIXEDdelay’, 'Starting…sleeping for ’ + str(lSeconds))
sleep(lSeconds)
MES_global.DB.logMessageDirectlyToDB(‘zTestFIXEDdelay’, ‘Finished’)

Since my script above takes 10 seconds to “run”.
I would expect there to be 70 seconds between log entries that start with:
'Starting…sleeping for 10

Here is the actual log entries: