Generate a list of alarm display paths in project?

Ignition newbie here, so sorry if this is obvious.

I'd like a list of alarms that the project can generate.

Is there a way to generate a list of display paths in the project?

The alarm display path property isn't always a reliable property to use as this can be bound and therefore can essentially be used for anything. The source will always contain the tagpath.

While I have used it for this before, you can most likely use the tag report tool to generate the list

1 Like

https://docs.inductiveautomation.com/display/DOC81/system.alarm.queryStatus

This is the best method I have seen that can return all alarms. One caveat, any indirect values will not update unless the alarm is active. However, you can force this by restarting the tags.

1 Like

@ nminchin This is great for seeing the display path with no binding which is very useful for me as I'm working with projects I didn't create.

@ jlandwerlen This seems like a good solution. But I was wondering if you knew of a way to get a list of just indirect values?

This has been very insightful for me. Thank you both very much!

I don't know how to get a list of tags that use bindings. Not sure if that's even possible.

I remember there being an issue with using queryStatus - I remember it excluding some tags.

Here's what I use to get a list of all configured alarms and their properties, originally written by @Kyle_Chase

"""
Description:
	Finds all alarms within a given tagpath and return a bunch of the alarm properties.
	https://forum.inductiveautomation.com/t/how-to-generate-a-list-of-all-configured-alarms/36651/6?u=nminchin
Revision History:
    Rev     Date        Author          Comment
    1.0     ??          Kyle Chase      Original
    1.1     2022-10-21  Nick Minchin    Fixed bit in tagpath. Wrote results to clipboard as a CSV
Return:
    CVS to clipboard with alarm tag paths and collection of alarm properties.
"""