Help/advice with data from SQL

Hi to all,

I have a project in the ignition perspective, this is my first project with the ignition. I need help/advice.
All my tags are from SQL database, I will have thousands and thousands of tags, I am thinking about the best way for reading the tags. To use query tags, in my opinion, will be ok for some smaller number of tags but not for thousands of the tags.
My idea is to use SQL Query tags and to read the complete table as data set, to do that for each table from SQL that I need, then to fire script in which I will rearrange data from ignition tags, based on my needs, and write it to ignition memory tags. And all my components (almost all) will use memory tags. In some case that will be data set memory tags and in some cases that will be UDT structures… Ok, when is possible I will use query tags (data set), I will not use memory tags. Is it ok, approach? I am not sure how ignition mange scripting (executes scripts) in parallel with other processes.

Thanks,
Maja

There are multiple ways to do what your talking about. Also I agree you don’t want that many query tags.

One is like you described using a query tag to pull a dataset then using a script to write to memory tags. That would be fine but you would have to decide where to do the script. You can do it as a tag change script on the query tag that runs the script on value change or you can do a gateway script to do it. I don’t know if doing it from a tag change script would get a dedicated thread. If you use a timer script though you can have it use a dedicated thread so it doesn’t stop other processes while it runs.

The other way to do it is to use expression tags and do a lookup.

Personally I try to use expressions before writing scripts. They are normally easier for someone that comes after you to understand. But either option I think should work fine.