Help on Dataset

Hello everybody,
I need help on working with dataset, I have a dataset which consist one of the column as Index to which I want to pass alternatingly value 1 ( each row in Index column would be 0,1,0,1,0,1…) so when ever user makes a new entry it will automatically assign value either 0 or 1
Intention is I will be using a template in a template repeater and each template text will either be blue or white depending on 0 or 1 pass through Index Column template parameter.

I have tried following script but i only updates last index as shown in snapshot, I doubt that issue is with system,dataset.toDataset instruction, its not getting executed for each value of (i). I am a newbie in python programming and just taking baby steps.

Note : pls ignore Value 2 in last dataset entry it was old snap latest is 1 as sen in scripting snap

Dataset

Output console

To alternate between 0 and 1 for an incrementing value, use modulus.

for i in range(10):
    print i % 2

Index column doesn’t contain any value other than what i intend to pass, I need to run through each row of Index column and set value in Index column

Try:

ds = event.source.parent.getComponent('Template Repeater').templateParams
ds_new = system.dataset.sort(ds, 1)

for i in range(ds_new.rowCount):
    ds_new = system.dataset.setValue(ds_new, i, 'Index', i % 2)

event.source.parent.getComponent('Template Repeater').templateParams = ds_new

Ps. you should always update your GUI after you’ve finished changing values to avoid constant updates

2 Likes

Thanks nminchin, that worked :smiley: how did 1 % 2 worked ?

The modulus takes the remainder of the number on the left integer divided by the number on the right.

1/2 = 0 remainder 1  so 1 % 2 = 1

in this case %2 return 0 on even and 1 on odd numbers

I mean, in my code it was updating 1 only in last dataset entry so i was suspecting query was executing only during last (i) entry