Help whit MOXA MGate MB3180

Hello

I'm a little confused, I have a MOXA MGate MB3180 and I connect to my ignition. this is my first time working with modbus.

I still don't quite understand the language that modbus gives me.

I see this

I have this on ignition

but I don't know how to pass the data I see in the moxa to ignition tags.

Modbus?

1 Like

yes, sorry

The "Choose OPC Item" window you show is part of Ignition's OPC Browser. IA's driver does not allow browsing of the basic address ranges of a connected device. You have to manually enter OPC Item Paths into Ignition tags, based on the documentation of the end-device (on the other side of the Moxa).

The IA driver does allow you to create OPC Item alias with its "Mappings", and those aliases will be browsable. You still need to know what addresses to create as aliases.

My alternate driver (linked in an earlier discussion for you) exposes standard IA-style addressing in the OPC browser, given a list of nodes and the addresses you wish to browse. So even then, you need to know what addresses are meaningful in the end-device (on the other side of the Moxa).

The Modbus protocol is simply too old and stupid to provide any information (through the connection) on what possible registers might be useful. At best, a Modbus device can give errors for addresses that aren't used, but many simply provide zeros. Some will give errors when addresses are accessed in certain combinations. Again, there is no way for Ignition to know any of this (nor with my alternate driver). You simply need the documentation for the end device.

Please share what you know about your end devices (not the Moxa--its purpose is to pass through requests and data to the end devices without any special handling).

1 Like

HI
I check the address rages

I don't undesten how I can creat the tagas

I creat this adreess