Help with Triggered SQL Expression Item

Hello all, a little introduction and background, I’m an engineer working for a third party software company that has a company using Ignition (version 7.5.5-beta6) as a customer right now. I’m trying to set up a SQL Server table that our software would use to pull some data in from our client’s SCADA system but am having problems. I’ve read through some of the documentation and searched the board but did not quite find what I need. If I missed it I apologize, please redirect me to the appropriate address.

Originally one of the engineers at the site set everything up using a couple transaction groups (one for each machine I’m dealing with), but he created the output table so that each SCADA tag has its own column, and has a machine ID column as well that I need to cross-reference when I pull data. The table is also not clustered on either the time stamp or the machine ID. I worry this will become increasingly slow as time passes and more data and columns are added (there will be a need to trend a lot of historical data in our software, so data retrieval speed is important).

What I would like instead is to have a tag list table, where each tag name and machine combo has a unique ID (I have created this table already). Then I would like the data table to be skinny and long, with only a couple fields: record ID, Tag ID, timestamp, value, quality. I would then make the clustered key for the table the Tag ID. This way I can query the tag list table for all the information I need on a given tag, and using the Tag ID I can quickly query all the data for a given tag out, even if there is a lot of data in the future.