How do I build a scheduled task script

Hi everyone,

I’m new to ignition and am setting up my first system with it. I’m replacing an old SCADA system and am trying to replicate some of the old functionality right now.

On our old system, we were able to have the operators schedule a command (2 actually) to be sent to one of the PLCs. First they would select a time and date in the future (08:00:00 03/28/2016 local time, for example). They would then specify a recipe number (86 [integer]). Finally, I had a boolean for an ‘enable’ to prevent an event from accidentally firing if they entered the current date and time (the default provided by the old SCADA was the current timestamp, so this was an occasional accidental entry). These three items were stored in what ignition would call Memory tags.

The system would compare the current time to the set time and if they were equal and the ‘enabled’ tag was true, it would write two items to the PLC in separate writes. First it would write the recipe number integer to a specific register in the PLC. Then, it would set a bit (coil) in the PLC to command it to actually start. After this, it would clear the ‘enabled’ memory tag.

What would be the best way to replicate this functionality in ignition? Something somewhat flexible would be good. We had 4 different pieces of equipment that we could set to start recipes like this, but I could see that expanding to more equipment in the future. I would also need this to run regardless of client status, so I’m assuming I will need some sort of gateway script to handle this. I’m running 7.8.2 if it makes a difference.

Thanks in advance,
Brian

Hi, Brian. Welcome to the forums! :slight_smile:

Ignition, you’ll find, is a very powerful system. I could think of two ways right off the bat, and a third one came to me as I’m typing. I’ll stick to the first two. :wink: