How do I update a variable found in another container

I’m relatively new to FactoryPMI. One of the problems I’m encountering, is determining the various objects/properties etc. found within a project.

What I’m trying to accomplish: I have an object in a window that supports control operations. When the user mouse clicks on this object, a popup window appears with a Open and Close buttons. I would like the code attached to the button mouse click event to update a dynamic variable found in the first/calling window. I’ve successfully passed parameters to the popup window, now I’m trying to update the variable and I’m not sure how to reference this object. This code is used for a demo system so I want to fake the correct operation normally found in the field.
Can someone provide a code example?

You’d be better off reading the actual state in the first window and setting the actual value via the DB/PLC in the second. This is much more meaningful than setting the first window variable from the popup window. Obviously if it goes all the way through the PLC it could represent the true state. If it goes through the database then at least all your concurrent clients would be on the same page.

I’m going to use user selectable valves for this example. Parameter passing wouldn’t be necessary with only one valve.

1. Create a selectedValve dynamic property in the main window, allowing the user to choose a valve. You have many ways of doing this.

2. The dynamic variable, valveState, in the main window represents the actual state of the selected valve. This should be periodically polling (bound to) the SQL database.

3. Clicking on your object should open the popup window, passing selectedValve to tell the window which valve to open/close.