How to create an alarm popup that will appear when an alarm is triggered

Hi all,

I am trying to figure out how to get a popup to open once an alarm is triggered. Then I will need to have that alarm message be read in the popup. Any help would be greatly appreciated as I am new to ignition.

Thanks,

Alex

I have a test alarm made for an OPC tag. I also have a popup window made too. So I need to know how to get the popup to show as soon as the alarm tag is a 1 (active) and show said alarm in the popup.

You will need to monitor for changes to active alarms yourself for using system.alarm.queryStatus

E. G.
Define a new script library with this, and call this function within a gateway timer script which increments a memory tag. Then in a client tag change script, monitor this tag for changes and open your popup using system.gui.openPopup.

See script in future post

Is there a way I can do that in Vision or does it have to be only the project library? Also do you know of any sources or examples to make a client timer script? Never made one before so I am confused on how it all comes together.

Or do you have any sudo code you could give me for this action?

You should have a look at the Inductive University as it covers all areas of using Ignition.

The reason to use a gateway script to run the system.alarm.queryStatus function is to avoid executing this too often as it’s expensive in terms of CPU time.

Script Library

This needs to be defined in the project that’s set as the gateway scripting project. This is the project that any gateway-scoped scripts use (gateway timer scripts) This can be found under:
http://<gateway ip>:8088/web/config/system.settings

The gateway script itself should be created here:
e.g. under shared.alarms

This is the script:

# define in shared.alarms

alarms_prev_ds = None
alarms_ds = None

def checkNewAlarm():
	global alarms_ds, alarms_prev_ds
	alarms_prev_ds = alarms_ds