How to find highest 3 value tags and print tag name to another display

Hello

I am very new to ignition. Trying to figure out how can I find 3 highest value inside the tags I list and write the tag name to a display with its value to another display. To be more clear;

In my project there are many scrap causes, all of them have a tag value. I am trying to find top 3 and according to top 3 I want to write highest value to another tag, second to another and so on. Also same way I want to write highest value tag name to label and second to another and so on. This way I want to show top 3 scrap causes and their respective values.

Hope I could explain. No idea how can I do it have been searching system.dataset.sort function but it would be very nice if I can get an example script to work with.

Thank you very much for any help.

BR

Are you wanting to have this always show the top 3, or will it be under a button to request it?

How many tags are you wanting to compare? Is the list dynamic or fixed?

In trying to use system.dataset.sort, do you have a dataset with the tags and their values already?

Hello,

I want to always show top 3, not triggered by button. I have each causes and their assigned tags. There are around 20 tags each, different scrap cause. The tag values can change according to production input. I dont have a dataset, it is just the closest thing I have found in my search, maybe I thought I could use it in some way. Solution does not have to be dataset sort.

BR,

Berkay

Sorry, still not clear if the list of 20 tag paths is fixed or dynamic? (is it always those 20 tags that you want to read the values of?)

The most efficient way would be to create a custom property on your View or a component in the view, one for each property. If your tags are all in a single folder, then you could also create a single property and bind it to the tag folder. This will get you a dictionary of all the tags and their values.

To be continued… Sorry ran out of time