How to handle duplicate entries in database

I am far from a SQL expert and I am having an issue with duplicate entries. It only happens occasionally, but causes issues when searching. I have a OPC tag that triggers a write to the Database. When a new value is seen, it collects data from other OPC tags and throws it in the db. Sometimes the operator will have to run the part back through the machine and this will cause some new data, which I am okay with since they will use this data vs. the previous. However, when we are down for extended times, the last entry will populate in the db numerous times(not quite every hour) until a new value is seen. I was hoping for some assistance with this. I was going to use a check for the DMX. If the DMX value is new, then write all the data to the db. If the DMX is a duplicate, then only update the other data and not write a new entry. Here is my script so far. Thanks for any help.

query = "INSERT INTO [Filler3_Data](dmx,pre_weight,filling_duration,position,dose_weight,post_weight,fault_code) VALUES (?,?,?,?,?,?,?)"
dmx = system.tag.read("[default]SAFT/JAX/Workshop_2/Filling3/INPUTS/DB_Results_0_/Status/DMX_Cell").value
pre_weight = system.tag.read("[default]SAFT/JAX/Workshop_2/Filling3/INPUTS/DB_Results_0_/Mes/P5110_Mes/Weight/Mes_w").value
filling_duration = system.tag.read("[default]SAFT/JAX/Workshop_2/Filling3/INPUTS/DB_Results_0_/Mes/P5120_Mes/Gen/Filling_Duration").value
position = system.tag.read("[default]SAFT/JAX/Workshop_2/Filling3/INPUTS/DB_Results_0_/Status/P5120_pos").value
dose_weight = system.tag.read("[default]SAFT/JAX/Workshop_2/Filling3/INPUTS/DB_Results_0_/Mes/P5140_Mes/Weight/Weight_dose").value
post_weight = system.tag.read("[default]SAFT/JAX/Workshop_2/Filling3/INPUTS/DB_Results_0_/Mes/P5140_Mes/Weight/Mes_w").value
fault_code = system.tag.read("[default]SAFT/JAX/Workshop_2/Filling3/INPUTS/DB_Results_0_/Status/Op_Fault_Number").value
dbName = 'Prismatic_Data'