How to install Ignition 8 Self Signed Certificate on Ubuntu 18.04

It is my first time working with SSL certificate. I am in the process of migrating from Ignition 7 to Ignition 8. Ignition 7 did not have SSL enabled while in Ignition 8 we are trying out the SSL. Due to the fact we are testing out so we are using Self signed certificate.

I created the self signed certificate through ignition 8 gateway (Networking → Webserver). My gateway is running on Windows Server 2016. Once the ssl was enabled, I went into the address bar and exported the certificate and saved it under C:\users\username.ignition\clientlauncher-data\certificate. I was able to successfully launch the visionclient launcher. Using the same methodology, I got the visionclient launcher to work from my laptop.

The same methodology did not work on Ubuntu 18.04. I was using chrome to export the certificate however in ubuntu chrome does not even allow me proceed to the website and returns with the following error(please see below).

I then used firefox and saved the certification’s …/.ignition/…/certificate folder. But when I launch the client launcher and add the gateway URL with 8043 port it says SSL certificate not found. I would really appreciate if you can help me out with this.

In a nutshell, I was able to get this to work on Windows based system however, I was unable to get this to work on Ubuntu.

Thanks

Place the certificate in /etc/ssl/certs/ /usr/local/share/ca-certificates/ and then run sudo update-ca-certificates.

1 Like

Thank you for the quick response pturmel. I will try it out but just to confirm will this work with self signed certificate. Based on the folder location it appears that its looking for ca certified certificates.

Thanks!

If it doesn’t work, then I would recommend creating a self-signed CA and installing it like so. Then sign your Ignition cert with the private CA.

Hi pturmel,

I tried your way but unforunately, it did not work.