How to limit the # of decimal points displayed in a floating point of a text area

Is there a simple configuration that I’m missing? Our floats are coming in with 8+ decimal points, and I would like to limit what the user sees in the Text Area to 1 or two points only. Thanks

You need to format these if used in a text field using numberFormat(number, format)
e.g. numberFormat(toFloat(tag(Root Container.DeviceTagPath) + '/PV'), '0.0')
numberFormat(1.231452, '0')

Used tag to demonstrate that you first need to convert the result to a number to use with numberFormat

I am pretty new to Ignition and Perspective but I had the same issue, I added a transform on the tag binding and it worked for me.

1 Like

The transform works. Thanks

nminchin,

Can you tell me what is wrong with my procedure to get this conversion? I highlighted where the tag is in my database so you can see DeviceTagPath.

Can you explain to me - since I’m displaying a tag right out of the tag browser, and it isn’t a parameter that is being passed from another view, I thought that view.rootContainer would be the right way to point the argument of the function. Thanks for helping me better understand how this object traversal works.

You don’t need to use the tag() function or the view’s root container at all, at least in your example. tag() is used to create a dynamic reference to a tag within an expression - say you had a view parameter like ‘MachineNumber’, and a tag structure with UDTs for Machine 1, 2, 3, etc. You could then use something like:
tag("[default]Factory 1/Machines/" + {view.MachineNumber} + "/PV")

Within Ignition’s expression language, the curly braces already specify “this is a dynamic reference” - so if you have the exact path to a tag, just put it inside curly braces:
numberFormat(toFloat({[default]Compressor Stations/Compressor Station 1/FOUNDATION COMPRESSOR STATION/PV}), "0.0")