How to use a button to change the TAG that is being bound to an LED display (or any component)?

HI there, complete newbie so forgive me if this is obvious.
I am creating a view that will emulate the functionality of a 3 phase power meter that I can interrogate via MODBUS.

1. Upload a decent picture of the power meter
  2. The physical unit has a 3 line display so over lay 3 LED displays on the picture …
  3. So far so good the LED’s are displaying the 3 voltage tags that I used in real time
  4. Next, the Power meter has a couple of buttons that toggle through the various parameters… current, PF, KW.h etc… so “screen grab” just the button from the original source picture and create a button over the picture on the view
  5. Now find a way to link clicking the button to change the MODBUS tag being displayed by the LED item… maybe indirect binding via a script?
  6. Realise that the vastness of my inadequacy requires me to seek a higher power… the FORUM!!!
    I havent found a video or a topic or an example to plagiarise as yet… so any suggestions would be most welcome.

Yes, a string property that contains the path or the changeable part of the path for the changeable display. The actionPerformed event on the button would look up the current string value to then pick the next string value. For that part, I'd use a constant list of strings in a script module. Find the current string with .index(), add one (roll over to zero at the end) to get the next string.

My take would have been to use a dataset with values and changeable parameters to use in indirect tags.

Here’s a mockup you can play with. Tags used are client tags, but feel free to plagiarize away. :slight_smile:

PowerMon_2020-10-08.zip (10.1 KB)
Take note of:

• Custom properties on the group (called meter, because I’m creative that way) and it’s bindings, where applicable