Ignition as a Building Management System?

Dear Community,

I’m new in the world of Inductive Automation and its ecosystem, and even more in the forum, so please excuse me in advance if I lack any precision.

My background is mainly in industrial automation, traditional SCADA, PLC, OT Networks, etc; however, every now and then a Building Managemen System comes alone and I wonder if feasible to create an application solution using Ignition for this purpose.

So far I know Ignition has drivers for BACnet and Modbus, but I’ll like to have feedback from someone with experience doing this kind of project o applications that can share what are the major pain points of entering this challenge. So, basically, my inquiry here is, Is Ignition a good platform to build a BMS? and what are the major recommendations or advice.

Thank you,

4 Likes

While I don’t have experience in using building management systems myself, I know that most - if not all - of our own campus is managed using Ignition. I’ll see if I can track down who set it up so that they can reach out here.

3 Likes

Hi @cperez, unfortunately I don’t have the experience (I come from the same background as yourself). I mainly want to express a similar interest. I have floated the idea of a BMS within the business (although it hasn’t got traction yet) as we have had a major office overhaul due to the pandemic.

I think we would be mainly looking down the IIoT route (MQTT, RESTful API’s etc.). My biggest concern is security (mainly due to this world being new to me and not configuring something correctly).

If I do get traction I will let you know of any pitfalls we come across. Let me know if you come across any further information, as I would be interested.

2 Likes

Absolutely. 8.0/8.1 comes with a BacNET driver.

7.9 you can use the likes of KepWare as a BacNET OPC UA Server, or use a hardware black box to change BacNET IP to Modbus TCP.

3 Likes