Ignition as an Energy Monitoring System

Hi All,
I wanted to ask the brains trust if anyone has implemented Ignition SCADA as an Energy Management System.
I work in healthcare and have been tasked with the upgrade of the EMS from two old EMS solutions to a singular solution. We have hundreds of meters (Over 600 all modbus RTU with gateways), plus hundreds of modbus points to be read from other control systems, but not many setpoints to be changed.
My question is, does anyone have any experience in implementing the system as an EMS, is it better to use an EMS solution from a company such as Schneider? (Upper management do not like Schneiders product offerings as they are not modular enough).
Thanks everyone.

I had posted a similar query couple of months ago. The Schneider’s Ecostruxure is custom built for EMS with lots of drivers for their and third party energy meters pre built into it and many AI reports for EMS features built-into it. Achieving the same in Ignition would involve a lot of wok from ground work of building and testing these drivers and reports ! Its all depends upon which make are these energy meters and other devices like breakers are and whats the make and functionality of the the existing EMS software !

Hi Pramanj,
Thanks for your reply,
I think the ground up building and configuration is what we are chasing, but it seems you are correct with the amount of work it would take.
The bulk of the meters are Schneider, but the software is just using modbus to read them.
EcoStruxure unfortunately is not COTS (commercial of the shelf) so only certain integrators are allowed to install and configure it…
Did you get anywhere with your query? Did you set out to make a project to work as an EMS?