Ignition Best Practices

Hey there, I am a relatively new controls engineer who has found myself a job where I do a lot of work with and in Ignition. I have a couple of years with java and python each so I have some idea of good coding practices but as far as Ignition goes I am more or less using my best judgement and following some of the practices my predecessor had already implemented. Is there a place/videos/class where I might be able to find some good implementation practices for various aspects of Ignitions suite? I just want to more or less make sure I am creating legible, maintainable, and future-proof systems in Ignition. Any help is greatly appreciated! (Sidenote: I do believe I know how to use and navigate most of if not all aspects of Ignition so not really a novice in that aspect, IMO) Thank you!

2 Likes

This is an interesting question, because it's true that most of IU is geared toward beginner level/just getting started content, and we don't really have much that targets the intermediate-to-advanced skill level.

I'll start with some general wisdom:

1. If you don't have to script it, don't.
  2. If you do have to script it, prefer to write it in a project script rather than a 'magic pushbutton'.
  3. Don't repeat yourself, but also write everything twice, because bad abstractions can hurt more, and chances are pretty good you aren't gonna need it
  4. In general, lean on the tools that are available to you, and practice saying 'no' to feature requests. Ignition is a flexible enough platform that the answer is often "yes, technically", but maintaining that one-off (that turns out to not be very important after all) is often a huge pile of technical debt that wasn't worth it.
20 Likes

This is actually super helpful! Thank you very much!