Ignition Dedicated IP Address?

Greetings Everyone,
I’m new to ignition.

Project Description:
Our automation system runs by pulling “recipes” from a MySQL database hosted through HostGator. The recipes are created through our website. Each recipe will only be used once by the system. After the recipe is run by the PLC we need ignition to execute a script to determine and pull new data from the database updating the tags so the next recipe can be run. We only need the back-end functionality of Ignition.

Questions:
1.) I need to add the proper permissions in HostGator so that the Ignition server may always access the database. Where do I find the dedicated IP address of my Ignition server so that the connection is always valid and does not fault each time my PC’s dynamic IP address changes?

2.) It seems that the transaction groups in the SQL bridge are the best solution. But I’m not sure. Would Gateway Scripts be better, or is there another better option?

Thanks,
Dallas Chase

Hi Dallas, welcome to the forums! :slight_smile:

1. You lost me for a moment. Are we talking about the Ignition PC’s IP address changing or the external (or public, if you prefer) IP address given by your ISP? Or both, or neither? Are static IP’s or using a hostname an option?

Sorry, got too many things running through my head to be much use to you yet without a bit more information. :blush:

1. I usually lean towards transaction groups, myself, putting in a bit of extra handshaking to verify the recipe got to the PLC okay.

Hi Jordan,
Thanks for the response. Sorry my terminology is fuzzy.

We need to make a permanent connection between our MySQL database that is on a server (HostGator) to our Ignition server. We need the connection between the two servers to stay valid even when no PCs are connected.