Ignition, Java & Caching

I was curious … how does Ignition cache files on the client-side?

Let me elaborate … when I launch a project from a remote client for the first time, I’ll get a loading screen. At some point in the loading screen, it’ll state Unpacking # of # or something along those lines. If I shut the project down and reopen it, I won’t get Unpacking # of # … I’m assuming the client runs the project (or package or whatever) from a cached file (or files) … is this a true statement?

If I wanted to empty my cache, how would I go about doing so? Where is the cache typically kept?

I’ve got little to no experience using or developing Java applications, so forgive me if this is simply common knowledge I’m lacking … if you could point me to a good source of reading on the topic, it’d be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Yes, the client is running from cached files; it’s set up that way to be more efficient. It’s actually stored in the Java cache (because it uses Java Web Start), and you can clear the java cache by going to Start->Control Panel->Java (in windows) and clicking the Settings… button under the ‘Temporary Internet Files’ section and then the Delete Files… button. This will also remove any desktop links you have to any of your projects (because those are part of the cache).

I have been enlightened … thanks!

Perhaps I can enlighten just a little bit more.

There are actually two places that Ignition Clients and Designers have a cache. The first place is the Java Web Start cache as explained above. In Ignition (as opposed to FactoryPMI, where this was the entire cache) very little is actually stored in this cache. Just the JNLP file, and a tiny little “bootstrap loader” program are stored here.