Ignition Maker Edition Events Not Firing

I am new to ignition and I am trying to make a simple thing to control two widgets with a slider. I have a toggle switch to switch what tag to set

The toggle switch is bound to a tag called SetTemp
I have the same code running on the switch's onActionPreformed and onClick event. I also have it on the tag's change event but still not running.
The code is

print("Event Fired")
Test.GetTagValue("Temp") # My Code

The console has no output. No error. Nothing.
The tag's value does change with the toggle switch

The toggle switch is set bound to a tag called SetTemp.

print("Event Fired")
This should be
system.perspective.print("Event Fired")
if you want it to appear in Designer Console.

Test.GetTagValue("Temp") # My Code
That won't work. To write to a tag use
https://docs.inductiveautomation.com/display/DOC81/system.tag.writeBlocking

You're going to have difficulty switching stuff. I'd recommend using a coordinate container, put two sliders on top of each other and toggle their visibility using the toggle switch. Bind one gauge to each slider.

Why won't it. It is a function I defined where I do my logic and write to the tags

I want a challenge to get used to scripting in ignition

Edit: I will probably change the name of the function

That wasn't clear from your post and you didn't supply the code for that function.

I put a comment saying # My Code
Also the print wasn't running. I didn't think that the code for that function mattered.

I am new to these fourms so I don't know what info needs to be provided but the code for the function right now is

def GetTagValue(name=""):
	system.perspective.print("Running")
	tags = system.tag.browse("/")[1:]
	tag = None
	for i in tags:
		if i["name"] == name:
			tag = i
	if tag == None:
		return None
	system.perspective.print(tag)

It doesn't write for right now because I want to see if it can get a tag but it doesn't run. Even with system.perspective.print there is nothing in the logs