Ignition Newbie looking for some help getting started

Hello there, kind developer! This post will be kinda long, so you might want to refill that coffee.

First, a little about my background so you have an idea what my knowledge level is:
I’ve been a controls engineer for about 30 years. In that time I’ve programmed mostly Allen Bradley ladder logic stuff. My most recent experience is all in automotive manufacturing, at the plant level providing support to skill trades on Control Logix and Fanuc robots. In these roles, I’m mostly using whatever code the vendors and corporate developed and troubleshooting and improving that ‘as installed’ code. I do have some light VB.NET and web development in my past, mostly as a hobby.

I recently started a new job where I have to, among other things, develop a SCADA/MES system for my company’s foray into automation. We currently have 2 machines installed, both with a Control Logix/Fanuc architecture that I need to get this SCADA system working with ASAP. I chose Ignition based on what I’ve read online to be that SCADA system. My reasoning was that I can get it working for free before I pay for anything, I can only pay for what I need as I scale up, and it looked pretty easy to work with… Fast forward to actually trying to get something going and I realize that I’m a bit out of my depth. I went through the University. Then started reading around the forum, and not really finding the answers definitively, I decided to reach out and expose my ignorance to you fine people.