Ignition User log-in from only one client or session

Hi all,

We have an application in a lab environment with different test-benches. Each desktop has an HMI panel. The intention is to have one Administrator user and different student users. The administrator can only login at one test bench at the same time and hereby disables all the write possibilities at the other test benches.

As I’m new to Ignition, I wanted to ask if this is possible in Ignition. What is best suited for this, vision of perspective? Other than HMI Panels at the testbenches, wa want professeros to walk around with theri tablets to view and control the installation, so for that we want to use perspective.

Thanks,
Simon

You could do this in the client startup script using the Node tag and system.util.getSessionInfo()

system.tag.read('[System]Client/Network/Hostname').value

To get the Computer name

ret = system.util.getSessionInfo()
for r in ret:
	print r[0]

to get the list of logged in users.

Thanks for the answer.

I tried this script both in the client startup (vision) and the session startup (perspective). Only in client startup it works. Can I do something similar in session startup of perspective sessions?

We don’t use perspective so someone else will have to answer that.
@Kevin.Herron

As of v8.0.7, there’s a separate system.perspective.getSessionInfo() specifically for Perspective client information.

I don’t use Perspective either :rofl:

Gotta get @PGriffith or @cmallonee in here for some Perspective skillz.

2 Likes

Sure this could be done in Perspective, but it’s a little more difficult than you would think. There’s no limitation that could be put in place on a project to limit the number of sessions a user could have open, so we’ll need to get creative in managing the “Administrator” user.