Interface Binding

Just want to clarify interface (NIC) binding options with Ignition…

If I want to utilize three separate subnets for Ignition comms as follows:

Subnet A: Server to server (Redundancy) comms.
Subnet B: OPC to PLC comms.
Subnet C: Gateway to Client comms.

I would use the Network Bind Interface option under redundancy config to set up the Subnet A binding.

I would use the Server Endpoint address under OPC-UA settings for Subnet B binding.

Gateway comms can’t be “bound” to an interface, but I would could shut off Autodetect HTTP Address and specify my Subnet C interface to advertise gateway availability only on the Subnet C NIC.

Also asking… is it correct to say we can’t currently bind the mobile interface to a NIC separate of the gateway?

And also - I’m no network engineer, so forgive me… what would be the advantages/disadvantages of using separate NIC bindings rather than putting a hardware router in front of a single interface and routing these subnets in?

Yep, you’ve got it all right, including your question about mobile.

As for the second post, I’m sorry to say that I’m not knowledgeable enough to speak to specific advantages/disadvantages of those two approaches.

There’s no real “one answer fit’s all” to your network question. You could go either way, or anywhere in between. Seek IT support if they have the equipment and expertise - this is their domain.