IPSCADA / IDP 680-6100 Modems

Hello all!
Is anyone using IPSCADA or connecting to IDP 680 or 6100 series satellite modems?

I am currently using Ignition internal Modbus driver connected to IPSCADA for Modbus RTU over TCP driver. I am able to get data from the devices, however, I seem to run into a timing issue when requesting multiple data polls. Almost as the Ignition requests data to fast since it's on slow connection. Is anyone successfully using these older technologies? If so, please let me know as I'd like to review some configuration settings.

Thanks, David
832-913-230

Modbus RTU has strict timing requirements that a high-latency satellite connection probably cannot achieve. Consider using true Modbus TCP gateway on the far end to manage the RTU strings with compliant timing.

Thanks for the response and will look into other options.

Agree timing is culprit but not sure if there is a way to make the changes.

What I find interesting is if I have my Data Mode set to Subscribed it works perfectly to connect and collect all 79 Modbus registers of data. The problem is that when the connection is established I get multiple requests successfully from the device burning up costly airtime before I can disable the connection via script.

Based on documentation I'm working with Polled and One Shot approach to only request 1 data poll for the same total of 79 modbus registers. I see the same 2 requests go out with the subscribe model but get a failed data response. However, If I ask for smaller set of Modbus registers using one shot I see the single request and data comes back. Fails once a larger request for data is executed.

You could try lowering the "Max Per Request" setting for whatever data area this.

Do you have a Wireshark capture that shows the difference in behavior between the two modes?

Kevin,