Issue Launching Designer

Hi All,

I’m new to Ignition. I’m suppose to learn Ignition and develop Ignition applications for a company who already have Ignition. I managed to log in to my client company’s gateway and launch designer. I didn’t obviously want to write any test apps in the production environment so I installed a local trial version for my learning activities. However, after installing the local version, I can’t launch the production version designer. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

P.S I uninstalled my local Ignition trial version but I still can’t launch the production version Designer from the gateway.

Best Regards

Most likely the designer is set to use more than 1.5gb of memory. You are probably running java 32 bit.
Uninstall java 32 bit and install 64 bit.

1 Like

Thanks a lot for the reply. In fact I have a 32 bit OS so java too is 32 bit.

Is it correct to say that 1.5gb memory setting matters if both designers were launch at the same time? If that is the case, I’m not trying to launch both designers at the same time. I want to launch one designer at a time. The local version designer runs but the production version seems to crash ( few seconds after Java logo shows up).

Best Regards

Designer memory is set globally for the gateway, so if you use any 64bit designers with more that 1G of memory, you’ll have to have all designers be 64bit.

1 Like

Just a while ago I uninstalled the local trial version Ignition and tried to launch the production version designer by logging in to production version gateway. But still the production version designer doesn’t launch.

@pturmel, thanks for the reply. I’m completely new to Ignition. So please bear with my questions.