Java Swing Role in the inner working of Ignition

I am an experienced Java Swing programmer and would love to work on Ignition. Ignition is totally new to me as is the automation industry. Naturally, I am starting at Induction University (and looking at the reported bugs and see if am up to task.)

Apparently, it seems Swing Components are accessed via Jython as far as Ignition is concerned. What I fail to understand is why Swing? Moreover, it seems on the User/Operator End, web technologies are preferred to Swing. Is Swing becoming a legacy ‘thing’ which will one day be tossed away? or there is something intrinsically useful in swing that Ignition will be using for the foreseeable future? Is it correct to say Ignition a mix of Java Swing and Web technologies (html/css/javascript) or it depends on specific parts and modules?

Thanks.

First, it is only on the front-end of Ignition, not the gateway.

That aside, Ignition has been around for a long time. (And its predecessor, FactoryPMI, goes back even further.) Java Swing was a very good choice for a cross-platform user interface--far superior to web technologies at the time. And back then, you could also embed java applets in web pages for the full experience.

There are still things Ignition's Vision Client can do that Ignition Perspective cannot--almost entirely due to the security bounds placed on web applications. Ways around those bounds in mobile and desktop apps have to be both suitably generic for all users, yet carefully designed to only permit Ignition itself to leverage them. Not a simple task.

Vision runs locally, with local user privileges in regards to the file system and any connected devices. Many applications rely on this for local workstation identification and non-standard accessories.

IA has committed to supporting Vision for some time to come. It has not committed to any specific future upgrades. That effort is focused on Perspective.

3 Likes