Kindling - a collection of tools to help with Ignition

Happy new year, and all that! I wanted to debut for the community something I've been working on for a little while, and hopefully it's useful to somebody out there.
The full story: Long ago I worked as a support rep at IA. While there, I made some tools for internal use; Vision windows attached to an internal gateway that knew how to parse our log IDB files and thread dump files and display them in a more useful way. Recently, I had some downtime, and wanted to take on a new project, so I recreated those tools as a standalone project. Thanks to some modern Java features, I'm able to package those tools into a standalone "native" executable, which should make them a lot more accessible than requiring an Ignition gateway.

So, here's Kindling, a collection of tools to help with Ignition (get it?):

• A thread dump viewer
  • A log file viewer
  • A store & forward cache dump viewer
  • An archive explorer that understands Ignition project files, gateway backups, modules, and more

And not to bury the lede, but it also comes with dark mode :slight_smile:

The best part: It's entirely open-source, and I'd love community contributions.

TL;DR:

I just want the download:

https://inductiveautomation.github.io/kindling/download.html

53 Likes

I guess I should learn Kotlin. /:

3 Likes

If you squint hard enough, Kotlin kinda lands between Jython and Java - all the benefits of static typing but with less syntactic ceremony.

Plus, null-safety in the type system is fantastic.

2 Likes

This is fantastic thanks so much! I think being able to perform some operations on config.idb without the gateway running and without dealing with sqlite syntax would be really nice too. Examples that comes to mind include being able to delete all the tags from a gwbk, global find/replace operations, etc.

Yeah, a .GWBK ā€œexplorerā€ or something is on my list of ideas; just needs fleshing out:

5 Likes

v0.0.2:

3 Likes

v0.0.3: