The following chain of events was undesireable in a redundant system.
Goal: Upgrade license with a new module on a redundant system. Version 7.5.2(b1146). The system is not connected to the internet.
Step one-- recommended by tech support. Unactivate license on master.
Step 2 through completion-- Follow the upload/download file process to upgrade the license.
Immediately after unactivating the license on the master gateway, all of the clients switch to the “trial expired” yellow screen. Upon resetting the master trial timer, the clients do not start working automatically. The application must be closed and reopened on each client.
Especially in a redundant system, it seems that the client would do whatever possible to keep running including failing over to the backup (which is still licensed) and automatically rehoming and running on the primary once it is available.