Looping through JSON

Hello all,

I have a script transform on a dataset that is bound to the instance of a flex repeater:

In the first part of the code, I am returning 6 instances with their values from the dataset, now I would like to be able to return an index value for each instance just like the picture below:

I am new to JSON and I do not know how to combine the last part with the first part of the code. I would appreciate your help in this regard. Thank you!

Well, the first thing to note is that script will end after the ‘return’ statement in the top part of the code. That’s why nothing in the bottom is being executed. You need to modify the list that you’re trying to return in script, and once it’s completely modified, then return it.

1 Like

You are correct! That was just for the sake of demonstration so that I know which part returns what as I tried them separately.

I wrote this script too, which I know is wrong but cannot figure out how to do it:
I get “mismatched input ‘for’ expecting RCURLY” error

return [
		{
			'mes_spec':spec,
			'spec_rev':spec_rev,
			'name':name,
			'description':description,
			'state':state,
			'findings':findings,
			'low_limit': low,
			'process_value': proc,
			'high_limit': high,
			'units':units,
			for row in range(value.getRowCount()):
				dict = {
					'index': row
					}
			list.append(dict)
		} for spec,spec_rev,name,description,state,findings,low, proc, high, units in system.dataset.toPyDataSet(value)
	]

I might be misunderstanding what you’re trying to achieve, but if looks like you’re trying to return the dataset as JSON and add an “index” field that increments to each row. An easy way to achieve this would be to do something akin to this:

x = 0
list = []

pyData=system.dataset.toPyDataSet(value)
for row in pyData:

dict = {"mes_spec": row["spec"], "spec_rev": row["spec_rev"], .... , "index": x}
    list.append(dict)
    x += 1

return list
1 Like