Mac OSX - NCL Does Not Launch Project

Hello,
I am migrating completely to the NCL, but I am a complete novice when it comes to Mac computers.

I am using the method mentioned here for all of my Windows installs, but I’m not sure what I’m going to do about Macs.

I’ve tried just installing the NCL on a Mac that I can work on, but I can’t even seem to get that going.
I have installed java but I get this error message and nothing happens when I try to launch a project out of the Native Client Launcher:

Does anyone have any suggestions for getting it to work in general, and also suggestions for a package that I could distribute which launches with all of the necessary arguments set? (gateway.addr=myserver project=myproject , etc)

I appreciate your help,
-Rob

It looks like java may not be on the path. How did you install java (recommend homebrew if possible)? If you echo $JAVA_HOME at the terminal, does it give the correct path? What version of java is reported with java -version?

I just installed it from the web at https://java.com/en/download/

echo $JAVA_HOME just leaves a blank line.

java -version yields:
“No Java runtime present, requesting install.” with the same result as the error message above.

Looking through some Java documentation (command line java on mac), it looks like you have to have the jdk installed, not just the run time environment to use the command line tools.

Or is it possible to just add java to the path?

Thanks for the response Perry.

The easiest way is to just add the JAVA_HOME path export to your ~/.profile file, which is executed when you start a shell session. Most commonly that export is just adding a line ```
export JAVA_HOME=$(/usr/libexec/java_home)

On mac,  `java_home` symlink should point to the correct current version.