Mass Data upload using CSV File and Validations

Hello Experts,

Looking for some idea’s on this and i am New to Ignition.

One of the Ask is, users want to Upload a sheet that contains around 70 columns of data into SQL Server DB through Ignition, which i made a code, but my question is “How can i Validate the Data before i Insert the Data into Base Tables.”

Any suggestions around that Please.

Thank you.

Well, when you open the file, you’ll have to loop through the rows extracting the content from the CSV. Validate those rows as you read them in, inside this loop.

If the rows are independent of each other, you can use runPrepUpdate() to insert each row after validation.

If you need to make sure they are all ok before inserting any of them, you’ll store your validated rows in a temporary (in memory) list during the read loop, throwing some error if any row fails validation. If they all pass, you’ll use a second loop to read the list of rows and insert them into your DB.

Thank you for your suggestion, so…

Open CSV File/Find out the Count of the Rows/Validate the data in Row/Insert Row data into DB.
Is that correct assumption…?

But…

1. Assuming everything above is done in Python script right…?
  2. Will that process be very slow…?
  3. How do i show the user the Errors…? once i finish the Validations…?
  1. Jython, actually.
  2. Not particularly. It’ll almost certainly be limited by your DB speed, not jython. Or possibly limited by memory capacity if the CSV files are very large.
  3. I would construct a window/view to show progress. That window/view could have a text area to which you can write any validation failures. Or you could make the process two steps: read and display in a table, highlighting failures, then a separate button to send to the DB.

FWIW, I wouldn’t bother counting the rows separately. Just read them in, validating and counting as you go, until end of file.