Material Design

Our company is pushing good design for all apps and wants to conform to modern UI design and material design (https://material.google.com)

I started playing with some of the concepts in Ignition and a lot is possible, but I am running into difficulty for buttons. Some thing like change hover colors are simple, but some of the custom drop shadows, font, and sizing are more complicated. (https://material.google.com/components/buttons.html)

Do you think its possible to do some custom renders of the button to override the default? Here is some Java swing that starts to get there, but I have no clue where to start implementing it… https://github.com/leMaik/swing-material/blob/master/src/main/java/de/craften/ui/swingmaterial/MaterialButton.java

Any suggestions or ideas?

+1

I’m on the same road and I would also like to know this…

For the past few projects I’ve tried flat/material with High Performance HMI design.
But, like @ryanjmclaughlin said, without some custom renders, not only on the buttons, but on other components also, just doesn’t feel/look right…

I like the new web page in Ignition 7.9 very much. It looks flat and more modern. I think it’s time to implement that look in the designer and all components in Ignition.
Ignition is way better than any other SCADA/MES system out there in every way,… except on how it looks… :unamused:
In 2016 (almost 2017) I think it’s time to do something about this look… :thumb_left:

All major SCADA/HMI software on the market (except WinCC from Siemens :laughing: ) already has some kind of flat/material (with High Performance HMI components) design…

We agree that there is room to improve/modernize various visual aspects of Ignition and we have plans in the works. As announced at ICC, we’re planning a new visualization suite that should address many use cases where people want to create more ‘modern’ applications.