Message handlers between two projects

Hello all,

I’m new in Ignition and i want to refresh a table in a project called “A” by a message handler sent by project “B”.
i tried this :
system.util.sendMessage(project=“A”,messageHandler = “Refresh_Table”)
and in my table component in project “A” i have the message handler called “Refresh_Table”

However i have this error message:

Gateway script MessageHandlerException, project ‘Lampes’, message handler ‘Refresh_Table’: com.inductiveautomation.ignition.common.script.message.MessageHandlerException: The message handler “Refresh_Table” could not be found! Check your event script message handlers.

what did i miss ?

Thanks in advance !

You’ll have to add a message broker between the projects first.
Start here: system.util.sendMessage - Ignition User Manual 8.1 - Ignition Documentation
Ignore the above. You’re using system.util.sendMessage()

In project A you will setup your receiver and from there you can call system.perspective.sendMessage() to call Refresh_Table

The receiving message is setup in the session events:

Session events Message info:
https://docs.inductiveautomation.com/display/DOC81/Perspective+Session+Event+Scripts#PerspectiveSessionEventScripts-Message

Hello @Corentin.appart.

As I can see, you are using system.util.sendMessage function, wich only works if the Message Handler is configured either on Client / Gateway / Session Event Scripts.

A Message Handler defined in a perspective component must be called with the function system.perspective.sendMessage. This functions only works is the call and the handler are in the same project.

So, in your case, you must move the message handler defined in the component to a message handler defined in Session event scripts.

Thank a lot for your support, i really appreciate it!