Modbus Setup for Cognex Barcode Scanners

I’ve never used Modbus before. So I appreciate any help I can get. I’ve tried a myriad of different connection address mappings and usually get something like the following back.

E [d.M.ReadHoldingRegistersRequest] [13:14:40]: Uncaught Throwable handling response. key=java.lang.Object@61545f1b, req=[ ], rsp=[ 00 03 03 FF 00 03 F5 2E ] device-name=Test Device Scanner
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2019/09/12 08:14:40 | java.lang.ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException: Index 3 out of bounds for length 3
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2019/09/12 08:14:40 | 	at com.inductiveautomation.xopc.driver.util.OldByteUtilities.getInt(OldByteUtilities.java:126)
INFO   | jvm 1    | 2019/09/12 08:14:40 | 	at com.inductiveautomation.xopc.driver.util.UAByteUtilities.getInt32(UAByteUtilities.java:155)

or

| 2019/09/12 08:25:57 | W [d.M.RequestSchedule           ] [13:25:57]: Rescheduling; error handling subscription change: java.lang.RuntimeException: Couldn't parse ModbusAddress from "cb1000". device-name=Test Device Scanner

Device info can be found here… on pg 82 https://www.hvssystem.com/documentations/Cognex/Dataman/CommunicationsAndProgramming.pdf

Do you have to map an entire device? I tried the whole thing and just pieces and can’t ever get not bad tag state.

Easiest way to get started is to forget the mapping for now and just go into the designer and make a single tag with an OPC Item Path of “[DeviceName]HR1” or whatever Holding Register offset you want to get data from.

The addressing is discussed in the manual: https://docs.inductiveautomation.com/display/DOC80/Modbus+Addressing

It also looks like you may have chosen the “Modbus RTU over TCP” driver instead of just the Modbus TCP driver. Or perhaps the device is actually RTU over TCP and you do need to choose that driver.

Wow, I am an idiot. It’s supposed to be Modbus TCP. Thanks bro.

Hi @wking for future reference, documents like this can be found in the MyCognex portal for customers.