Modify selected cell value

Hello,

My name is Pawel and I am new to Ignition Software.

I am trying to create script to modify 1 cell in selected row (Status).
I have copied code from Ignition site, but it give me error.

It changed “scanned” value to “0.0” but then, error is displayed and old value comes back. The value is fixed and will be always the same. 0.0

Error details:
GatewayException: SQL error for “UPDATE tablename
SET columnname = value
WHERE condition”: An expression of non-boolean type specified in a context where a condition is expected, near ‘condition’.
caused by SQLServerException: An expression of non-boolean type specified in a context where a condition is expected, near ‘condition’.

Ignition v7.9.8 (b2018060714)
Java: Oracle Corporation 1.8.0_181

I am trying to solve this problem for the whole day but can’t find working solution. I hope you can help me with this.
All your help is much appreciated.

Best regards
Pawel

Your script is actually fine - the ‘Error running update query’ is a bug on our side in Ignition 7.9.7/7.9.8. Ignition 7.9.9, out within a couple weeks, will fix this issue.

Thank you for quick response. Is there any way around that as temporary solution?

You would have to take the SQL binding off of the table’s data property - or replace it with a named query binding.

1 Like

Thanks for your replay. I did as you suggested. The error is not there, however the new 0.0 value displayed for second and then get back to old value. It look like it wan’t communicate to SQL and replace with new value.

Hi,
I am refreshing this topic as I tried to find the solution in last 2 days, but no success. Not sure if this can be done as value 0.0 stay only until Pooling Mode refreshes the table. Once this happened it get back to old “Scanned” status.
Is there any other way to change selected cell value permanently?
I can add new data in to this table, but can’t modify existing value.

Regards
Pawel