Multi-State Indicator displaying three states-help

Hi I’m new to ignition (and have almost zero coding experience) and am using the Edge version to develop a SCADA system for a third party client. I’m currently trying to make an indicator light that will be green(1) if all tags are communicating, red(0) if no tags are communicating, and flash yellow(2) is some, but not all, tags are communicating. I have tried using if statements and can do the green or red scenario fairly easily, but I haven’t figured out how to accomplish my third state. Any suggestions? The current expression is shown below.

if(({WAD EMTR/TRUE_POWER}||{WAD EMTR/UnitId 1/1_V_phaseA359-1_V_phaseA360/1_V_phaseA359}
||{WAD EMTR/UnitId 1/1_V_phaseB363-1_V_phaseB364/1_V_phaseB363}
||{WAD EMTR/UnitId 1/1_V_phaseC361-1_V_phaseC362/1_V_phaseC361}
||{WAD EMTR/UnitId 1/batt_input}||{WAD EMTR/UnitId 1/performance_ratio}
||{WAD EMTR/UnitId 1/utility_import}||{WAD MTEO/UnitId 1/1_bom_temp301-1_bom_temp301/1_bom_temp301}
||{WAD MTEO/UnitId 1/1_irr_poa101-1_irr_poa102/1_irr_poa101}
||{WAD MTEO/UnitId 1/irr_temp103-irr_temp103/irr_temp103}=0),0,1)

//checks if any meter/weather tags aren’t communicating & displays “fault” if one is null

One way to do this would be to break it down in separate custom properties something like:
someTagsOnline with an expression that checks for any tags communicating
someTagsOffline with an expression that checks for any tags not communicating
status with an expression binding something like this:

binEnc(someTagsOffline, someTagsOnline)

See https://docs.inductiveautomation.com/display/DOC79/binEnc.

This will give you the following status states:
1 = Red: all offline
2 = Green: all online
3 = Flashing Yellow: some online, some offline

While you could build all this logic into a single expression binding, it’ll likely be easier to follow if broken up something like the above.

2 Likes

This works perfectly, thank you!

1 Like