My Perspective Logger Component

So, I’m relatively new to ignition, but have enough experience to know that logging can be difficult at times, at least in perspective apps. So, I made a logger component that I thought I’d share in case it helps someone else (or in case people can tell me how I’ve over engineered another problem :sweat_smile:):

The startup script for the component instantiates a singleton object which stores a reference to the component (sort of a singleton. I used a borg pattern I found mentioned around the web in a few places. I’m new to Python cough I mean Jython too). Here’s my script file, simply named logger:

import datetime

debugTagPath = "[default]Debug_" + system.util.getProjectName()
loggerDockName = "Logger"

class Borg:
	_shared_state = {}
	def __init__(self):
		self.__dict__ = self._shared_state

class Logger(Borg):
	def __init__(self, componentInstance = None):
		Borg.__init__(self)
		if componentInstance:
			self.componentInstance = componentInstance
	def log(self, msg):
		if hasattr(self, 'componentInstance') and system.tag.exists(debugTagPath) and system.tag.readBlocking([debugTagPath])[0].value == True:
			self.componentInstance.params.text = logTimestamp() + str(msg) + "\n" + self.componentInstance.params.text
	 		system.perspective.openDock(loggerDockName)

def log(msg):
  Logger().log(msg)

def logTimestamp():
	return '[' + datetime.datetime.now().strftime("%m/%d/%Y %X.%f")[:-3] + ']: '

And here’s the startup script for the logger component:

def runAction(self):
	"""
	Method that will run whenever the selected event fires.

Arguments:
		self: A reference to the component that is invoking this function.
	"""
	logger.Logger(self)