MySQL Database Connection Faulted

Did your MySQL Database Connection just fail?
[poll type=multiple max=4]

• Yes
  • No
  • Linux
  • Windows
  • Just Updated
    [/poll]
    PROBLEM

Caveats - I am a Ignition newb and relative Ubuntu Linux newb. Accordingly please be gentle. While developing an initial customer application my easy chart is faulted out in red with an error

MySQL Database Connection Faulted

PRIME SUSPECT
Just updated MySQL recently

xxxxxxxxxx@u1204vm_xxx:~$ apt-cache show mysql-server | grep Version
Version: 5.5.31-0ubuntu0.12.04.2
Version: 5.5.31-0ubuntu0.12.04.1
Version: 5.5.22-0ubuntu1

STATUS

at h t t p : // 192.168.xxx.xxx:8088/main/web/config/database.connections?12
Database Connections

MySQL01 enable live values
Faulted
Error:
Cannot create PoolableConnectionFactory (Communications link failure The last packet sent successfully to the server was 0 milliseconds ago. The driver has not received any packets from the server.)

ENVIRONMENT

Ignition Version 7.6.1 (b2278)
Java Version Sun Microsystems Inc. 1.6.0_45
Ubuntu Server 12.04 with LXDE GUI running in KVM Virtual Machine
MySQL Version: 5.5.31-0ubuntu0.12.04.2

OBSERVATIONS

I see that another user is having a similar problem with the forum topic today
Database Connection Failing with high CPU Usage

I had searched on the most prolific error observed
viewtopic.php?f=72&t=8430&start=0&st=0&sk=t&sd=a&hilit=java.lang.Exception%3A+Unable+to+add+data+to+memory+buffer%2C+buffer+full.

POSSIBLE SOLUTIONS

1. Wait until tomorrow and hopefully just
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get upgrade

2. Try to figure out how to revert my MySQL version
    since I hadn’t done a recent complete environment backup
    thankfully my recent application development is backed up

3. Restore from an old environment backup and do a bunch of updates and
    restore my recent application development work

4. See what the auspicious forum has to say

LOG TEXT

Overview
Modules
SQLTags
Database Connections