Mysql Slow Select

Hi, I have a problem when I try to get data from a mysql db, I have this table :

CREATE TABLE `events_table` (
  `id` int(11) NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT,
  `date` timestamp NOT NULL DEFAULT CURRENT_TIMESTAMP ON UPDATE CURRENT_TIMESTAMP,
  `id_tag` int(11) NOT NULL,
  `value` int(11) NOT NULL,
  PRIMARY KEY (`id`),
  KEY `date` (`date`)
) ENGINE=InnoDB AUTO_INCREMENT=1683945 DEFAULT CHARSET=latin1;

I have multiple tags with a value changed event, when this tags change the value, insert data to my table.
In one hour I get 120.000 records, so when I try to get this data to a table component in igntion I get a query that last 10 seconds, is this normal for the for the large amount of data?

You don’t say what indices you’ve created, nor shown the query. If the columns used in the where clause are not indexed, the DB must read every record to pick out the ones you want.

Sorry I’m new with databases configuration with large amount of data, I’m still learning how they work.
I created an index for date.

CREATE INDEX date ON events_table(date);

I use this query:

select date,id_tag,value from events_table where date >= '2015-12-02 21:00:00'  AND date <= '2015-12-02 23:00:00'	
246855 row(s) returned	1.591 sec / 17.893 sec

That was just 2 hours, but my client probably want data from a week or more, what can I do with this? I was thinkin to use another DB like mssql, probably that works better. I have 2 weeks for resolve this.

Several things will affect the speed of this query.

On the hardware side, databases want lots of memory and fast disk access. If you’re interested, I can go into the nitty gritty detail of how this query will work, but the bottom line is give the db every scrap of memory you can. This will be true for both MySQL and MS SQLServer.