Named Query, Power table, Row color based off column value

This should be fairly easy however I am quite new at this, scoured the forms and much of what I’ve found is quite vague.
I have a power table running a named query that updates every 5 min. I would like to change the row colors based on the value in column 8. The values in column 8 go up to 400. From 0-90 I would like the row to be red, from 90-120 the row yellow, from 120-400 green. I have tried various scripts in the configureCell to no avail. Can this be done by binding in the Background Color property?

To do that you would use the component scripting for the power table. The extension function configureCell. You would want to check for the value using something like:

val = self.data.getValueAt(rowIndex,"column title")

if val >= 0 and val <=90:
 	return{'background': 'red'}
 if val >= 91 and val <=120 :
 	return{'background': 'yellow'}
3 Likes

The code looks good however, I still get the error ‘return’ outside function. I know this is a beginner python error here are some other beginner things I’ve done to try and resolve this issue. Removed the return (fixes the code but doesn’t change the cell colors), replaced return with print (which again, fixes the code but doesn’t change anything). Can you please point me in a good direction?

Did you put the script inside of the power table’s configureCell extension function? That’s where it belongs.

If so and you are still getting exceptions then post your script here and put triple back quotes before and after so that it formats correctly and somebody may be able to spot the problem.

script```

I got some help, much was with my formatting. The first line needed to be indented based on the top line. And else statements needed added as such. I’m posting this so other noobs in the future will have something as a reference. Also, we had to look up the type of data it was in the SQL table that is where int came from.