Navigation tree node order

Hi all,
I am new to ignition and need help is arranging the navigation tree.

I would like to arrange the parent nodes and child nodes in a particular order, how do i accomplish this?

At first glance it appears that every entry is automatically sorted based on the string used for nodes. I would like to set my own order sequence.

Thanks

Is there a way to tie a database table to a navigation tree ?

yes. just bind the items dataset to a sql query.

I tied a query to show all the nodes but all i see is a generic item1, item2 etc in the tree. How do i make the results of the query show up as the nodes?

Thanks

Maybe this will help a bit.

Let’s say you have a table (called TreeTest for this example) of departments, positions, and employees that looks like the following.

You can write a query as such, to add a / between the Department and Position fields, which the Tree View component needs to determine the level hierarchy. You call this the Path. Then you select the EmployeeName field twice, naming it Text and Selected Text. The query in Microsoft SQL looks like the following.

SELECT
Department + ‘/’ + Position AS ‘Path’,
EmployeeName AS ‘Text’,
EmployeeName AS ‘SelectedText’
FROM
TreeTest

Now, you bind the Tree View’s Items property to that query and you get a TreeView that looks like the following when fully expanded.

I didn’t answer the first question in this topic. It appears that the developers have coded the Tree View component to internally sort alphabetically by the Path parts and then the Text. The only way to order the path parts and the text that I know of is to trick it by prepending a character in front of the Path part and/or the Text as shown below. It’s not pretty at all, but it will work.