Need help charting within a container

Sorry, I am still very new to this program that was dropped into my lap.
I am trying to get a history chart working in a container that will vary the contents based on the sensor the container is tied to.
To put it differently, “[~]Process/EM_Process1_Condenser/TIT_401_02/Scaled_Output” charts great, but “Root Container.AnalogInUDT::Scaled_Output” which links to the same data does not work.

I tried this tutorial, but I am running into problems where the tutorial looks different than what I am using (I have 7.9), and I am wanting the chart to know what the calling root container is instead of having a drop-down with all of the sensors.

Thanks for any help you could give.

I’m assuming your “Root Container.AnalogInUDT::Scaled_Output” is using an indirect tag to pull in the value. To pull from the historian to display in your easy chart though, you have to pass it a tag path instead of a value. Assuming your path is similar, but your device changed your path could be something like “[~]Process/EM_Process1_Condenser/{Root Container.device}/Scaled_Output” using a cell update binding. With this I’m assuming your device is stored as a custom property on your root container. If your selecting based on your drop down, the 7.9 manual shows exactly that. If your using 7.9, that manual will be more use to you than the 8.0 manual. Most things are close in how they work but not everything.

With what you mentioned about knowing what your calling root container is, you still have to have some kind of value that your passing in so if this is part of a popup, one of the values you can pass into the popup can be part of your tag.

Got it. Thank you for your help.