Need to import iFIX iHistorian Data

We are finishing up a conversion from iFIX to IGNITION. The last task is figuring out how to import 18 years of iHistorian data into Ignition SQL data. We have done a little research and need some direction on best methods.

1. An acceptable option may be 5 years of data.
  2. 30 second data is 1M records per year for 1900 tags. 10 min avg is 52,560 records per year.
  3. We may need to recover history on 500 critical tags.
  4. There are some forum threads from 2012-2013, but no significant recent discussion.
  5. I am a decent SQL query writer and I believe I understand the sqlt and sqlth files. I am able to write JOINs on them.
  6. History was configured in 1 week partitions. Do I have to maintain that table interval? Can I dump 10 minute average data into a year partition? I am trying to reduce the amount of manual conversion tasks - 1 year is better than 52 weeks.
  7. Yes, iFIX Historian has the ability to export raw and filtered (averaged) data to CSV, but excel or the iFIX plugin breaks somewhere past 50,000 records. 1 year at 10 min average is 52,560 records.
  8. Should be able to do SQL BULK INSERT from CSV. Is there a better way?
  9. The excel CSV intermediate step seems to have limitations.
  10. Running Ignition 7.9.3 on VMWare. MSSQL 2016
  11. What advice on automating this conversion?

Thanks for your responses. KP

http://ignitiontips.blogspot.fr/2016/08/import-historical-data-from-csv-to.html
This link could give you some example

1 Like

History was configured in 1 week partitions. Do I have to maintain that table interval? Can I dump 10 minute average data into a year partition? I am trying to reduce the amount of manual conversion tasks - 1 year is better than 52 weeks.

No, Ignition would be able to use whatever table size you specify. The range of data (as well as the table name) is defined in sqlth_partitions.

Should be able to do SQL BULK INSERT from CSV. Is there a better way?