Need to make sure text or numbers are entered in components

Hi guys, i have text field and numeric entry field component in a view. So my requirement is like user should provide inputs(type numbers or text) if not user should not be able to submit the form. It is moreover like a google form if we leave blank text field the outer layer of the component will be red right. How can i make sure user provided all the necessary details.

Double-posted and answered already. Please don't do that.

1 Like

sorry i am new to ignition and ignition forum community i won't double post hereafter can you kindly elaborate like you said how to disable confirm order until values are entered-

OK. Let's delete our posts in the other thread and deal with your topic here.

so my requirement is if a user try to type alphanumeric values or numbers ...

Numbers are alphanumeric.

... I need a togglepopup to be opened stating "Only strings are allowed" so that user can know only strings are allowed.

Everything you can type is a string so that prompt wouldn't help anyone.

Anyway, don't do that. Use standard web interface so that your application works as the users expect. For example,

• Set the border of each text field to red and change to black when the field has correct data type in it.
  • Use a tooltip to explain the input requirements.
  • Disable Confirm Order until all the fields pass the data validation criteria.
1 Like

Thank you, Can you kindly elaborate like i am new to ignition i don't know how to change border of text field from red to black after meeting its requirements

Sorry, no further help until you delete your other post.

To be honest i don't know how to delete the post now i have deleted the post can you elaborate it now

• Set props.deferUpdates : false. This will allow the validation to recalculate on each change of text.
  • On each text field create a custom property, valid : false.