New Alarm Alert as a Popup

Hello All. I am new to the Ignition and I have a scenario where I would need to show a popup window with a Message saying that there is a new active unack alarm. Let me tell what I am trying in brief. Getting the alarm count in the timer script and trying to do a popup based on the difference in number of alarms. The script seems to work in Script Console but it doesnt work when it is inside action performed of Timer script.
Here is the sample code:

import system
global lastcount

alarms = system.alarm.querystatus(state = Activeunacked)
currentcount = len(alarms)

if lastcount > 0 and currentcount <> lastcount
system.gui.messageBox(“New Alarm”)
lastcount = currentcount.

Please let me know where I am going wrong.

I would start this a different route. It looks like you are polling for changes to alarm states, when really, we should be reacting to events relating to alarm state changes. This is going to be a long winded answer, so hear goes.

1. Create a new shared script. For this example, create it at shared.alarming. The following will create an object, that extends Ignition’s AlarmListener interface. This is how we get the alarm event from the gateway to the client.

Post the following code:

from com.inductiveautomation.ignition.common.alarming import AlarmListener
class MyAlarmListener(AlarmListener):
	def __init__(self):
		system.util.getLogger("MyAlarmListener").info("Constructing Object")

def onAcknowledge(self,evt):
		system.util.getLogger("MyAlarmListener").info("OnAcknowledge")
		system.util.sendMessage(project="prime",messageHandler="onAcknowledge",payload = {"event":evt},scope = "C")

def onActive(self,evt):
		system.util.getLogger("MyAlarmListener").info("OnActive")
		system.util.sendMessage(project="prime",messageHandler="onActive",payload = {"event":evt},scope = "C")

def onClear(self,evt):
		system.util.getLogger("MyAlarmListener").info("OnClear")