New, help with basic scripting

I am new with Ignition, and had a couple of questions:

1. I have a text field. It gets inputed with a string after scanning a barcode. Is there a way that when the text field gets entered, it will be written to an event script, but then gets resetted so I would not have to mouseover the text before inserting a new barcode.

Basically I will take each barcode. When it comes in, I will tabulate information on the barcodes that were scanned until information is resetted.

1. Will I need to use event handlers, or an event script (client) or both?

Thanks in advance

If I understand your scenario correctly, I think a tag change timer script would be the way to go. For more information about timer scripts and tag change scripts:

inductiveautomation.com/support/ … ripts2.htm
inductiveautomation.com/support/ … cripts.htm

I wouldnt think time delays would do it though.

I want a change which depends on clicking on the text field. I think that is a mouseclick event change. So, I scan my barcode, and its ASCII equivalent is inputted into the text field. Everytime a value goes into my text field, I will determine through its first symbol whether it will belong in 1 of 6 groups (I have easy if statements that can do that). There is also an accumulator that will show on the same HMI screen. For example, an employee badge reader: one barcode is $1234, and another is $4567, I will show on the HMI that (2) barcodes are from employees from the same group.

On screen, one has to mouseclick over it and get the string highlighted before I could put a new barcode scan into the text field.

My first question is how to clear the text field screen after a barcode is scanned?
Then when it is scanned, what type of script I have to make to tabulate everything. I have a code to tabulate the amount of employees, but just need to know where to write it.

Thanks in advance