New to ignition: tag quality error-configuration

I’m new to ignition and just downloaded designer. I’m launching a new project on localhost and following the “configure an alarm” training. Everything was fine until the guy in the video went to edit the OPC tag and add an alarm. So all I did was make an OPC tag like him and gave it a name but immediately when I applied changes the value and quality of the tag both said “Error_Configuration” and this is the same message I get when I make an Expression, OPC, or Query tag it says the same thing. I’m confused because I just started using it and it seems I already did something wrong?

If you edit the tag and select the option to ‘show diagnostics’, is there anything helpful in there?

It does show the last published value as “null”, “error configuration”

If you click the ‘paragraph’ icon next to the red X (or hover over the X, perhaps?) is any more information shown?

A hunch: if you click the menu icon in the tag browser, do you actually have a tag group created named Default?

When I click the paragraph icon it shows the same information:

As for the tag browser when I click on ‘Edit Tag Groups’ it does show that ‘Default’ and ‘Default Historical’ are a group.

Does this mean that the tag I made could somehow not be coupled or exist under the Default tag group even though I created it while under the “default” option

At this point, the most productive thing might be a call in to our support department (support.inductiveautomation.com) - they can help guide you through what might be wrong ‘live’.