Newbie on fragmented HMI Scada systems

Hello,

I’ve been playing with Ignition and so far it’s very easy and powerfull, all I need, perfect :slight_smile:

Most things are done manually in my company and we have a Scada installed (SpecView) but not using it to save anything, just a screen running numbers to check 9 small production lines, each of the latter runs using Eurotherm controllers changed manually. We have a mysql DB too but nothing linked.

I would like to scrap all that and have some local HMI on each production line with Ignition as the main system looking at the whole production. With Ignition talking to mysql and input recipe change for controllers. Local HMI is in case main system goes down or if you dont want to walk too much :wink:

Any suggestions for local HMI to use?

Ignition panel [del]view[/del] edition?

Thanks Robert for the reply.

I am a newbie in process engineering, educated in another field. Learnt OPC recently.

Ignition vision panel edition look like it could do the trick but there’s no history or sql access.

Basically my boss doesn’t like a central system as if it goes down, then it means you can’t use any of the lines, which is fair enough.

PLC --> Local HMI --> Main (Ignition) or PLC --> Local (HMI) / Main (Ignition) in parallel, if it’s possible. With both systems being able to ‘take over’ on the other one, meaning if a change is made locally then it’s updated on the main and vice versa. Because there’s x lines so far but growing, I am not sure if I need x Ignition full packages in a way or if it’s possible to find an outside low cost HMI to do the local bit. Local and Main having access to SQL and history too so that no data is lost in the event of a breakdown.

I forget, but I think you get the ability to query a local sql database w/ the panel edition don’t you? I haven’t played w/ the panel edition yet.