Nube can't connect to DB

Hi, I’m new to the SDK. I have written some Java utilities years ago, but nothing as complex as this. My project involves extending scripting. I have down loaded the scripting-rpc example, and ran it to get an idea of how this all works. I used the client-designer-gateway archetype to setup the project, then followed the scripting-rpc example in setting up my code. First I used the multiply method to test my project, success. I then setup my first method passed in my parameter and returned a result, success. Now I am trying to connect to the DB. It appears I have a bit to learn about connecting to the DB. I have tried to use the very limited information in the SDK programming guide, and what I could find here in the forum, and the Java Docs. Trying to use the GatewayContext to make a connection to the DB, does not appear to be working. I am not receiving any errors, other than the nullpointer exception as a result of it not working. Here is a screen shot of the debugger.

Thank You,

Anthony Todd

On line 17 you set context to null, then try to call a method on it on line 23. There’s nothing in between to make it not null. You must use the context object you are given in your module’s gateway setup hook.

1 Like

Hi Phil,

Yeah, I didn’t think the null was right, but it satisfied the not being initialized. I had tried many other things prior to that, and was at my wits end. I have been looking at the setup in the gateway hook and I see how I could run the queries there, but that is not where I need to run them. I need to run them from the gateway script module where my methods live. I have several hundred methods each with their own queries to implement. Is there a way to pass the gateway context to the gateway script module? I have also been trying to set up multiple gateway script modules with no luck, if you have any suggestions there. As you can see I am no Java guru, but I hope to get there eventually.

Thanks,

Anthony Todd