OPC Disconnects and long read/write periods

Brief backstory:
About 4 years ago we developed an MES system using Ignition. It was developed solely by one guy, who is not with our company anymore. Within the past 2-3 months we've been having lots of problems with OPC connections dropping out, as well as sometimes very slow opc tag reads/writes. It is really hurting our production numbers right now, and I've finally been given access to our ignition server and have been tasked with figuring out what is causing these disconnects and slow downs. I should also add that this problem has always existed, just not at the severity we are seeing lately. I have very little experience with ignition, but I learn quick and I am open to any suggestions. I will attempt to provide as much detail as possible, but if more is needed I will be happy to acquire it.

Our system:
We are using Ignition 8.0.14. Ignition is connected to a total of 13 PLC's, Of those PLCs we have 4 Omron NX102-9020, and 9 Siemens S7 300 series. On the Omron side, we have a total of 56 tags, being polled at a rate of 800 ms. On the Siemens side, we have a total of 763 tags, being polled at a rate of 1000 ms. We are using the Omron NJ driver (3.0.14) and the Siemens driver (5.0.14)

The communication drop out and slow downs are being seen on every device. These disconnects and slow downs appear random. We have yet to see a pattern to when and where they will happen. I myself am more experienced with Omron, so I was able to setup some tags to run some tests using the Omron PLCs and ignition. I setup a variable inside of an omron plc called gMES_Debug. I then setup a script in ignition so that on valueChange, ignition simply writes the tag back to 0. Inside of the PLC I am timing how long this transistion from 0 --> 1 --> 0 takes, effectively timing the tag read/write speeds of the opc connection. The tag is set to update at 800ms. I get timings back anywhere from 200ms - to >60s. It is random.